Empaths, Highly Sensitive People, etc.

Ever since the passing of my uncle, I learned something new about myself. I learned that not only am I a highly sensitive person, but I am also an Empath.

So, what is an empath? Or what does it mean?


An empath is someone who walks into a room or space and can diffe
sense the change in energy or vibe in that particular room or space.


My own experience:

At least for me, the day before uncle passed away (Nov 2020) , I felt the same feeling I had right before grandpa passed away (July 2020) only couple months prior. However, this time, this feeling or funk, was even stronger. So strong, I couldnt shake it off. At first, I thought it was because I havent been sleeping well. So, I decided to take a quick 30 to 45 minutes catnap. After the catnap, I still felt this funk persist ever more so. Ok, so it wasn’t because I was sleep deprived. I still went in to work as originally scheduled. I worked an hour and a half and I decided to the in the towel figuratively and talk with the night manager to see what my options were. Thankfully,  they understood my scenario and allowed me to work 75% of my shift and then go home afterwards.  After work,  I went and picked up dinner on the way home.  I made a quick pit stop by Walmart for some last minute art supplies. The whole time while I was driving from work to take out dinner and then to Walmart, the feeling just continued to persist like there no tomorrow. Thankfully,  there was not a lot of drivers on the road then. It was pretty late by then,  probably 8pm in the evening. I remember clearly thinking to myself, “I don’t feel like going home just yet. However, pandemic is still going on.  Can’t really go anywhere right now.” So, I reluctantly went home with my to go dinner in tow. I probably slept super late that night.  I woke up in the morning feeling meh. Still not feeling like doing much of anything.  However,  I decided to do simple chores, like laundry. So while laundry was going,  I started to draw and sketch. Not long after i started drawing and sketching,  my sister came and knocked on my door. I went and answered. I told her,  I know my laundry’s done. I was just about to go and dry my laundry.  She told me, no not that, uncle just passed away. I quickly rushed to my mom’s side. The first thing I heard her mumble as she cried was, “This is not fair?!” Man oh man, hearing your mom mumble something like this after losing a parent and now a sibling, really does pull your heartstrings so much!

Ever since this happened, it all makes sense. Even before grandpa passed away, even when Im at work, at the very beginning, i could kind of sense the shift in energy/vibe. After I had time to think back and reflect on it, it makes sense that I am an empath.

Thank you for being patient and caring enough to read this long post. Thank you. 🙏

These pictures, I do not own them. I found them fron Pinterest.
Just wanted to share these from Pinterest.


–BQs 01.07.2021

Leave a comment