New England 2017

Hello fellow readers! It’s definitely been a long while! Hope everyone is doing great! 

Recently, I was able to take a trip to New England (Northeast corner of the USA). States includes Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut. I visited three of them: Maine, Vermont, and Massachusetts. I flew into Portland, Maine and picked up my rental car. When I arrived at the rental car could get, the clerk said that they will free-of-charge upgrade me to a mid-size from a compact because they ran out of compact cars. So I ended up with a Hyundai Elantra which, surprisingly, I loved! Maybe I’ll get that car one day, I don’t know, we’ll see! Anyhow, I had a range of emotions when I got into the drivers seat. I was excited. I was nervous. I was scared. Mainly, I was scared how the local people drive. Fret not! Everyone drove calmly and collectively! So, I ventured out and drove to old port, a district near the wharf of downtown Portland, Maine. I parked the car in a nearby garage and decided to walk on foot to explore Old Port. Oh man, don’t get me started on how gorgeous Old Port is! The cobblestone streets! The richness of the architecture of the buildings! The harbor! Everything came together so well. I feel like I stepped back in time to their time. I spent about 2 hours in Old port. Before going there, my friends suggested to me that I have to try their lobster rolls! Therefore, before leaving Portland, ME, I bought one lobster roll to try. After dinner, I drove from Portland, ME to Stowe, VT to where I am staying for the night. I didn’t arrive until late at night. The drive took me about 4 hours to get there. Now I learned my lesson, never drive at night in New England. Nothing happened to me at all. What I mean is that, everything at night over there looks so creepy and scary. It doesn’t help that I went in October, the month of scare. After arriving to my destination, I quickly got settled and got ready for bed. Before getting into bed, I threw on the provided bath robe on top of my long sleeve that I brought with me. Soon after, I fell asleep like a baby. In the morning after waking up, I packed up so that after breakfast, all I had to do was check out. After check out, I drove to my next destination. Upon arrival, I was just stunned at the gorgeous and awe-struck scenery of Vermont’s famous and well known fall foliage! While driving, I had my mouth gaping wide open all the way! Whilst in Vermont, I also checked out couple of their covered bridges.  After about the eighth one, I had to call it because I still had about 3 hour drive to my next destination, which was Salem, Massachusetts. After spending the night in Salem, MA, I checked out and prepared to fly out from BOS. However, after checking out and before flying, I had couple hours to spare. Thus, I drove to downtown, parked the car, and walked around while waiting for stores to open for the day. Luckily, I found one that was open early in the morning. Oh, the perfect store to do some last minute souvenir shopping! Well, that pretty much sums up my New England trip! Here are some photos that I took! Enjoy! 

Leave a comment